New Releases List

Saturday, August 6, 2011

The Order I Wrote My Novels

Someone was asking me the order I wrote the books I have for sale on Amazon and Barnes and Noble. I'll throw in the year, just for fun.

2004 - The Kingdom of the Bears
2007 - The Righteous
2008 - The Devil's Deep
2008 - State of Siege
2009 - Implant
2009 - Mighty and Strong
2010 - The Red Rooster
2011 - The Wicked
2011 - The Devil's Peak

I also completed novels in 1989, 1991, 1994, 1998, 2001, and 2005. The first two were terrible. I was just a teenager and learning the craft of writing. The books written in 1994 and 2001 were mediocre and will never see the light of day, but the two written in 1998 and 2005 were pretty good and deserve to be published. The problem is that the book I wrote in 1998 is 150,000 words and the first book of a fantasy series. I don't feel I can devote myself to writing another half millions words of fantasy at this time and it isn't fair to readers to release the first book of a series I'm not actively pursuing.

The book I wrote in 2005 is a children's fantasy novel called Moonland and is pretty good, but it needs a fairly significant rewrite. Given that my other children's fantasy, The Kingdom of the Bears, is a book I'm proud of, yet has only sold about 100 copies total in six months, I can't justify spending the time to whip it into shape, to say nothing of paying for editing, a cover, etc.

I was busier in the 90s than it appears, as I wrote over 100 short stories between 1988 and 1998, when I became primarily a novelist. You can also see that in 2007 I got serious and have produced eight books in the last four years.

No comments:

Post a Comment